Ramblings of a bearded fool

Hi Summer! We’ve missed you!


As the great lyricist once said…

Summer, summer, summertime

Time to sit back and unwind ‘

Of course, it was Will Smith and his huge hit with DJ Jazzy Jeff ‘Summertime’

Did you know, Will Smith doesn’t have to cuss in his records?…



If you are reading this in a country that quite often has long summers, prolonged periods of high temperatures and skies that are often tinged with that mystical colour we like to refer to as ‘blue’, you’ll probably be thinking “What’s the big deal?”



Firstly…bully for you!

Secondly…we Brits are subjected to grey skies for almost the whole of the year!

Thirdly…the moment the fiery ball in the sky shows…(I think you call it ‘the Sun’?) we like to expose our pasty white flesh and turn it pink as quick as possible without even a thought for our well being!


Let’s face it, you’d do the same if your weather was as unpredictable as ours!



This picture was taken on my ‘summer’ holidays last July!


☝🏼 I may have made that bit up…



Seriously though! We brits have to take full advantage of the nice weather as we never know how long we’ve got it for!
Last week was a great example…
In the early part of the week we had temperatures hitting the heady heights of the early 20’s C!?!
The latter part of the week, I was scraping ice off my car and cracking out my thermals!

I really wasn’t prepared for that…πŸ˜–

Where is this going I hear you ask?


It’s simple really…


The minute the stores start to get in their Summer ranges and start showcasing bright colours and lighter weight products…the clock is ticking people!
Sure, we can go abroad and enjoy the weather, but it would just be nice to enjoy our beautiful (and it is beautiful) country.



I must admit that I’m that dude who cracks out my legs at the mere hint of the temperature reaching double figures, I’m longer in the tooth now, so I know it’s short lived and I’m gonna get the wear out of my new shorts if I have to get hyperthermia to do it!



What I think I look like…☝🏼
What I really look like! (Without the hat obviously!)☝🏼

Don’t panic though!
You guys can trust me right?

I’ve added some pics of some of my favourite summer pieces and even put them together into outfits that are great for the Summer season when it finally arrives! 
All of my selected outfits are available from Fatface in stores and online here.

Outfit 1: Cotton/Linen mix shirt, Organic cotton crew t-shirt, Reef tropical leaf shorts, Acetate sunglasses and ‘Burcot’ suede flops click here


Outfit 2:  100% linen shirt, Denim shorts, Four stripe t-shirt, ‘Henley’ flip flops, acetate sunglasses 😎 
☝🏼The Linen shirt is exquisite! It’s made with the finest Irish Linen produced by Baird Mcnutt, Linen producers since 1912☝🏼




Outfit 3: ‘Amble’ check shirt, Sunshine graphic t-shirt, lightweight chino shorts, ‘Henley’ flip flops, sunglasses as before.
Outfit 4: ‘Pembroke’ zip through hoodie, ‘Day of the week’ graphic tee, Coral print swim shorts, Branded flip flops.

Outfit 5: ‘Pembroke’ graphic hoodie, Indigo highlight stripe t-shirt, ‘Breakyard’ cargo shorts, sunglasses and flops as before.
Hope you enjoyed the choices!

Remember these golden rules for Summer…

  • Don’t skip leg day at the gym!
  • Apply sun cream even under the greyness
  • If you’re a ginger (like me) stay indoors if the temperature goes above 24!
  • Don’t be afraid of colour and print!


Thanks for reading, drop me a line if you have any questions.

Until next time…

Ouch!☝🏼
Peace and love.

Leave a comment