Ramblings of a bearded fool

Behold! The capsule wardrobe…



You may recall that in my last post I wrote about showing how I pull together a capsule wardrobe…

So here goes…

 
I’ve gone with less than 20 clothing items, but added several accessories and 1 (yes 1!) pair of boots!

Don’t panic!

I clearly have wayyyy more than one pair of shoes (more than 50 to be precise!)

I am simply demonstrating that the items selected are super versatile, you could quite easily swap the boots for a more seasonal pair as and when required, the clothing items however, could easily last you months.

How?!


Simple really, by mixing and matching the pieces I’ve selected you can come up with hundreds of different outfit ideas that will carry you right through spring and in to Summer.

You will need to have an idea on how you want to create your own personal look, using key pieces throughout and ‘classics‘ that pretty much don’t date, you should find it easy to achieve.

So, firstly I’d like to show you the options I have chosen, followed by a small selection of outfits (I literally could’ve filled this whole post with outfit ideas!)

The bottom options were easy…from left to right Slim fit ‘selvedge‘ denim, Portland chinos in navy blue and (the most exciting!) ‘Two year two washes’ stretch slim fit denim all by Fatface available here.


If you know me, you will know that I’m passionate and slightly obsessed with 2 things…Coffee (don’t do instant or cheap) and Denim (usually Japanese, always selvedge!)


Why selvedge


What is selvedge?


This explains it…

Initially known as ‘self-edge’, the selvedge is the narrow, tightly woven band on both edges of the denim fabric. A selvedge end prevents the edge of the denim from unravelling and shows a clean, finished look. Old shuttle looms produce denim where selvedges are closed.


Having purchased a couple of pairs of expensive selvedge jeans (both Japanese) I went through the pain barrier of only washing them twice in 12 months (storing them in the freezer to self clean) and spent over £250 for the pleasure!

Good denim isn’t cheap and cheap denim isn’t good! 



How impressed was I then, when I spot the two styles of denim above both available without the ridiculous price tag, both incredible pieces that fit and look superb!

The Portland Chino is an absolute classic, I personally would wear them rolled up above the ankles, to pay homage to the effortless ‘coolness’ demonstrated by Japanese and Scandinavian street styles.

(See my last post ‘Find you own groove‘)

From left to right: Denim Jacket, Heysham popover hoody, graduated stripe crew neck, Roseville Jacket, Contrast ringer stripe t-shirt, light indigo stripe crew, indigo Breton crew neck, organic cotton t-shirt in ‘dark ink’ and Phillimore Utility denim shirt.

All items apart from the denim jacket are available from Fatface here

From left to right:  Contrast ringer stripe t-shirt, Clachan fine stripe shirt in Japanese blue, Plain Oxford shirt in Redwood, Plain Oxford shirt in white and Stripe Oxford shirt.

All available from Fatface here.

last but not least…

from left to right: Military Overshirt/Jacket, Navy beanie, Organic t-shirt white, Textured scarf in Olive and Gold (actually ladies!), Burgundy beanie, Leather stitch detail belt and canvas belt.

All available from Fatface (apart from the boots!)

As the weather improves, replace the scarves and beanies with more seasonal relevant products.


The outfit builds…



Styling tips…



It’s personal preference, but I prefer my shirts buttoned to the top, unless I’m layering with a striped t-shirt (see image 7) 
Remember to roll up those jeans to show off the selvedge details, you can do double denim, just make sure you layer it and choose different washes!

As for the accessories, I often wear a nice scarf, quite often a ladies scarf at that!
Be brave in your choices and dress to impress…yourself!
Hope you liked it!
Until next time…


Peace and love.

One response

  1. James

    Another Awesome Adventure in what where and how to put it together…
    Excellent Fella!

    February 27, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Leave a comment